12 abril 2009

8 auspicious symbols

Ashoka Chakra
the centre of the National flag of the Republic of India (adopted on 22 July 1947).
This wheel is a depiction of the Dharmachakra, the Wheel of Dharma (Chakra means wheel).
The wheel has 24 spokes.
Chakra is a Sanskrit word which also means cycle or self repeating process.
The process signifies the cycle of time as how the world changes with time.

Buddhist art frequently makes use of a particular set of eight auspicious symbols, ashtamangala, in household and public art.
These symbols have spread with Buddhism to many cultures' arts, including Indian, Tibetan, Nepalese, and Chinese art.

These 8 symbols include:
Lotus flower, representing purity and enlightenment.
Endless knot, or, the Mandala. Representing harmony.
Golden Fish pair, representing conjugal happiness and freedom.
Victory Banner, representing a victorious battle.
Wheel of Dharma or Chamaru in Nepali Buddhism, representing knowledge.
Treasure Vase, Representing inexhaustible treasure and wealth.
Parasol, representing the crown, and protection from the elements.
Conch shell, representing the thoughts of the Buddha.

Sem comentários: